The Sounds of Christmas go Baroque!
Michael Cacoyannis Foundation |
Duration: 70 minutes

A Festive Concert by
the Michael Cacoyannis Foundation
featuring Italian Baroque compositions
for Flute, Recorder, Viol and Harpsichord
For second year successively the Michael Cacoyannis Foundation
celebrates Christmas with a festive concert of Baroque Music,
dedicated to the birthplace of the kind, Italy.

Natalia Gerakis – flute, Dimitris Kountouras – recorder,
Andreas Linos – viol and Markellos Chrissicopoulos – harpsichord
interprete and stage compositions by Arcangelo Corelli,
Domenico Scarlatti, Pietro Antonio Locatelli and Diego Ortiz.

Intensive emotion, lyricism and dramatic feeling are characteristics of the baroque music, a style that was born in Italy during the last decades of the 16th century and was then spread all over Europe. Leading composers of the italian baroque, who developed news forms of instrumental music, are included in the program of this Christmas concert:
originate from Naples, the ricercare for viol by Diego Ortiz are works of the early baroque period. In Naples as well, the famous virtuoso Domenico Scarlatti composed 555 (!) sonatas for harpsichord. In Rome, Arcangelo Corelli gained fame and wealth mainly due to the Concerti Grossi – as for instance the outstanding and popular “Christmas Concerto” – while he composed some of the most beautiful variations on “La Follia”, one of the oldest european music tunes. Corelli’ s student, the gifted composer and violinist Pietro Antonio Locatelli from Bergamo, bequeathed us, apart for the numerous works for violin, 12 particularly elegant flute sonatas.


DIEGO ORTIZ (1510/25-1570)
Ricercare No.1 on ‘Passamezzo antiquo’
Ricercare No.2 on ‘O Felici Occhi miei’
for viol and harpsichord

Sonata in F major, Κ.257
for harpsichord

Sonata No.2 in D major, οp.2
for flute and basso continuo

Variations on ‘La Follia’ – Sonata in D minor, No.5, οp.12
for recorder and basso continuo

Concerto Grosso No.12 in F major, οp.6
for 2 flutes and basso continuo (adaption D.Kountouras)

Concerto Grosso No.8 “Christmas Concerto”
in G minor, οp.6
for 2 flutes and basso continuo (adaption D.Kountouras)

Buy tickets with credit card:
Over the phone at 210 3418579 Mon- Fri 11:00- 14:00

Tickets are also available at the Foundation’s Box Office (Piraeus 206, Tavros) Mon-Fri 11:00 – 14:00 as well as one hour before the performance

Ticket pre-sales available at PUBLIC.

Public Open hours:
Saturday, 09:00 – 20:00
Daily, 09:00 – 21:00

General Entrance: €12

27 & 28/11, @21:00

Hall: Theatre

Address: Piraeus 206, Tavros, Athens
Information +30 210-3418550

Leave a Reply


© 2009 LivinLovin. All rights reserved - Created by Top Creations TopCreations.