Romina Basso & Latinitas Nostra
Onassis Cultural Centre |

Sacred music by Antonio Vivaldi
April 18, 2011
20:30 Main Stage

Latinitas Nostra, an ensemble specializing in baroque music, was founded by the harpsichordist, Markellos Chrysikopoulos. His aim: to perform baroque works, many of them unpublished, on period instruments in line with authentic performance practice. The ensemble also sought to spotlight the cultural links between Greece and the West alluded to in its name –Latinitas Nostra, meaning “our (Greek) West”– and the revival of works with Greek subject-matter remains central to their choices. Examples include the performance of Antonio Caldara’s L’Olimpiade on the basis of unpublished archive material. The ensemble will be performing with the Italian mezzo, Romina Basso, a singer endowed with an unusually wide vocal range which she employs in a repertoire that encompasses both Baroque and Romantic works. Like the ensemble’s conductor, Romina Basso adopts a creative approach to Baroque performance: improvisation—often extremely virtuosic—is integral to her style, as it was to singers and musicians of the period. The core of the programme consists of religious works for Easter by Antonio Vivaldi, principally the Stabat Mater dolorosa for solo alto and strings which he wrote in 1712 after a long period devoted exclusively to the composition of instrumental works. The work is a musical setting for a Mediaeval poem meditating on the suffering of the Virgin Mother during Christ’s crucifixion. Vivaldi’s version differs from those of other composers in setting just ten of its twenty verses to music, enabling the work to be played at Vespers on the Friday before Palm Sunday. Programme:

Sonata à 4 in Mi b maggiore “Al Santo Sepolcro”, RV 130
I. Largo molto
II. Allegro ma poco

Stabat Mater, RV 621
I. Stabat Mater dolorosa. Largo
II. Cujus animam gementem. Adagissimo
III. O quam tristis. Andante
IV. Quis est homo. Largo
V. Qui non posset. Adagissimo
VI. Pro peccatis suae gentis. Andante
VII. Eja Mater, fons amoris. Largo
VIII. Fac ut ardeat cor meum. Lento
IX. Amen. Andante


Concerto per 2 violini e violoncello in re minore, RV 565
I. Allegro – Adagio e spiccato – Allegro
II. Largo e spiccato
III. Allegro

Motetto “Longe Mala”, RV 629
I. Aria (Allegro)
II. Recitativo
III. Aria (Larghetto)
IV. (Allegro)

Romina Basso: mezzo-soprano

Latinitas Nostra
Simos Papanas: solo violin
Fani Vovoni: solo violin
Iason Ioannou: solo cello

Dimitris Karakandas: violin
David Bogorad: violin
Eftychia Talakoudi: violin
Vassilis Tsotsolis: violin
Andrea Vassale: violin
Christos Vlachos: viola
Electra Meliadou: cello
Dimitris Tigas: violone

Thodoris Kitsos: theorbe
George Petrou: harpsichord

Markellos Chrysikopoulos: organ & musical director

Onassis Cultural Centre
107-109 Syngrou Avenue, 11745 Athens, Greece
Information/Tickets: 210 900 5 800,
Administration: 213 0 178000

Leave a Reply


© 2009 LivinLovin. All rights reserved - Created by Top Creations TopCreations.