Panorama of European Cinema
City of Athens |

Panorama of European Cinema, organized by “Eleftherotipia” newspaper  and under the auspices of the Greek Ministry of Culture, began just before 22 years in September 1988, marking the time of the year nomination as European Year of Film and Television. Since 2009 it’s been organized by the City of Athens Cultural Organization.

During its 22 years of existence, Panorama became an arts institution that seals the autumn cultural life of Athens, and although it focuses to European cinema, modern and old, along with the Greek productions,  as well as cinematography of the rest of the world. New British cinema, cinema of perestroika, new Italian cinema, Ealing studios comedies, fantasy cinema, science fiction movies, eco cinema, film censorship, 200 years since the French Revolution, 40 years of “Cahiers du cinéma” magazine and love and eroticism in cinema are just some of the tributes and retrospectives that have been hosted by the festival, all these years.

Furthermore, the Special Prize of Panorama, is given to individuals artists for their lifetime achievements in the movies. So far among the recipients of the award are Michelangelo Antonioni, Harold Pinter, Arthur Penn, Christopher Lee, the “Monty Python” (Terry Jones and Terry Gilliam), Stephen Frears, Wim Wenders, Emir Kusturica, Abbas Kiarostami, Costas Gavras, Roger Korman, Francesco Rosie, Ettore Scola, Taviani brothers, Anies Varda, Max von Sydow, etc., as well as individuals from the Greek cinema, such as: Michael Cacoyannis, Irene Papas, Theo Angelopoulos, Jules Dassin, Nikos Koundouros, Pantelis Voulgaris, Alexis Damianos, Nikos Kourkoulos, Despo Diamantidou, George Arvanitis, Eva Kotamanidou, Eleni Karaindrou, Yorgos Fountas, Dinos Demopoulos, Mikis Theodorakis, etc.

21 – 31/10

Leave a Reply


© 2009 LivinLovin. All rights reserved - Created by Top Creations TopCreations.