Dance Evening at the Roman Agora
Greek National Opera |

The Greek National Opera’s Orchestra and Ballet present two magical evenings in the Ancient Roman Agora, under the rock of the Acropolis. Renato Zanella introduces two successful choreographies based on Mozart’s piano concerto no 23 and Beethoven’s piano concerto no 5.
As Zanella noted, «The night will begin with the work written by Mozart: only the second part has been choreographed. Ιn the other two parts οnly the music is heard. It is a minimalist contemporary interpretation of the music entitled The Voyage and it portrays the destiny of an artist: he travels all his life, leaving behind places and friends so as to follow his passion. On the other hand, Beethoven’s work is a tribute to the classical and imperial aspect of the art of dance. The performance, which features four main couples and ten couples accompanying them, relates to Napoleon. Research into the music composition revealed a focus on the historical era of the Napoleonic Empire. Thus, it forms the perfect foundation for one to develop the language of classical dance, which is necessary for my creation. There is no narration: in this case I would rather be swept away by the music».
The distinguished pianist Dimitris Toufexis is the soloist.


Conductor Elias Voudouris
Choreographer Renato Zanella
Soloist Dimitris Toufexis, piano

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart The Voyage (Piano concerto No 23)
Ludwig van Beethoven Beethoven op. 73 (Piano Concerto No 5, Emperor Concerto)

Greek National Opera Orchestra, Principal dancers, Solists, Coryphées and the Corps de Ballet

Tickets €16, 23
Students, children €10

Tickets on sale in advance
from the OLYMPIA THEATRE ticket booths, 59-61 Academias St., Athens
from 09:00 to 21:00 daily
Phone bookings  210 3662 100, 210 3612 461, 210 3643 725
Online bookings www.

GROUP TICKETS, Tel. 210 3711 342 
Subscriber’s Department, Tel. 210 3711 381 /

Leave a Reply


© 2009 LivinLovin. All rights reserved - Created by Top Creations TopCreations.